Week Two – Guacamole

Until I made this for the first time last year I’d never bought an avocado before and the closest I’d got to eating one was guacamole from the supermarket. It’s such a different texture making your own, so much nicer, creamier, and I love knowing that all that is in my guacamole is what I’m putting in it. I haven’t made this as much as the salsa but again, I haven’t bought any from the shop since knowing how to make my own.

IMG_1456

– 2 avocados

– 2 green chillies

– 1/2 small red onion

– 1 small tomato

– 1/2 lime

– bunch of coriander

– salt, to taste

Finely chop your chillies, onion and tomato. I only use a small amount of tomato and onion – usually if I’m making this, I’m also making the salsa, so I just put a small amount aside instead of putting it in with the salsa mix. Mash the flesh of your avocados to however chunky you like it to be (you could blitz it in a food processor if you prefer a smoother guac) and then mix in the chilli, tomato and onion. Scatter the chopped coriander, squeeze your fresh lime, and add salt.

A tip I picked up off a few recipes was to put the stone from the avocados into the bowl, and just leave it in there. This is supposed to stop the guacamole turning brown. When we made this on Sunday I didn’t bother putting the stone in and it turned brown so fast, it’s perfectly safe to eat but it’s just more appetising when it’s green I think!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

