Week Two – Salsa

Keeping in line with my previous post, the second week of January my friend came round for a fajita feast on Sunday, and again on Wednesday when we decided to make our own pesto, to go with chicken and pasta. I thought I would do my week two post on the recipes I use for these three dips/sauces. I’ve split it into three so it’s not just one huge post!

Salsa 

I’ve never really been a huge fan of shop bought salsas so I don’t know why it took me until 2013 to attempt making my own. So much more tastier, the flavour is so much more intense, it’s nowhere near as watery as a bought one.  I don’t think I’ve bought one since I made my own – now, if I want salsa with some tortillas, or maybe some chicken, I just pick up the things I need to make it from scratch. It’s also one of the most easiest things to make ever! Seriously, if you’ve never tried it I urge you to.

IMG_1457

– Tomatoes – I usually pick up a 6 pack of salad tomatoes, but I also made some today with a packet of cherry tomatoes, so it really depends on how much you are wanting to make.

– 1 small red onion

– red chillies – I usually use one or two

– bunch of coriander

– half a lime

– salt, to taste

I usually find that all these ingredients are things I always have in, so maybe that’s another reason this is becoming a firm favourite, perfect to finish off using the ends of things in the fridge up. Finely chop the tomatoes, the chillies, the onion, and coriander, and put altogether in a bowl. Squeeze the juice of the lime, and season. When I first made this I ended up watching tons of videos on you tube because everyone had different ways. A couple of them said that it is best left for a few hours, if not overnight, as the juice from the tomatoes starts coming out, but I usually can’t wait that long before dipping in…

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Week Two – Salsa

  1. […] also made a bowl of guacamole and we used our standard salsa recipe, not just for the tortilla chips we had, but for the actual filling in the […]

Leave a Reply

