Week Two – Pesto

No pictures of this one! The first time I made this pesto back in the summer, I wasn’t sure how many garlic cloves to use. I found one recipe that said to use two cloves, then looking at Jamie Oliver he said to only use 1/2 a clove…I went for one in the end. When I made this last week I upped it to two as I had a lot more basil so I knew I would be making more.

– 2 cups of fresh basil leaves

– 1 cup of toasted pine nuts

– garlic cloves (I really think it depends on how strong a garlic flavour you want as to how many you add)

– 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil

– 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese

– salt, to taste

Simply place all the ingredients together, and pound together. Or alternatively, put in a blender and pulse, adding the oil bit by bit, but I just found putting it in the pestle and mortar better.

I can’t get over how different everything about homemade pesto is to shop bought pesto. I think the next time I make it I am going to actually leave adding the garlic until the end and add it in small bits by bits. I find that it is just so overpowering and whilst I do like the pesto, I wouldn’t say I liked it better than a Sacla one. On the other hand though my friend absolutely loved it and would rather make her own from now on  than buying a ready made one.

Have you got any tips for making your own pesto?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

