Week Three – Chicken Goujons

I’ve wanted to have a go for quite some time at making my own chicken bites/nuggets/goujons , whatever you want to call them! I am always eating these (not very good I know), but often on weekends when my brother comes over, chicken party food and TV marathons pretty much go hand in hand. They are far from good for you so I decided to look at making them from scratch in the hope  they would be healthier!

IMG_4259

– chicken breasts – I used 8 as I made some to freeze

– breadcrumbs – you can either get these from the shop or just pop a couple of slices of bread that’s going a little hard around the edges into the blender. I made a big batch of these with half a tiger loaf I had forgotten to freeze and used around three cups for this.

– 3 eggs

– 50g plain flour

– herbs/spices/salt/pepper to taste

Prepare the chicken by cutting it into any shape you want, strips, small pieces, larger pieces, I did a variety.

Set your flour in one bowl and beat your eggs into a second bowl. I used three more bowls, for two different flavoured breadcrumbs. In one bowl, I mixed 1 cup of breadcrumbs with some garlic powder, oregano, and parmesan shavings, as well as a little salt. In another, 1 part breadcrumbs, cayenne pepper, dried rosemary and a small bit of garlic powder, and thirdly 1 part breadcrumbs, cajun seasoning, dried coriander and salt. I’m sure the combinations are endless!

Taking your chicken, just dip from bowl to bowl! Dip it straight into the flour, shake off the excess, dip it into the egg, letting the excess drip off, and finally put it into the bowl of whichever breadcrumb mix you have opted for.

Place on a baking tray and cook for around 20 – 30 minutes, turning over halfway through.

If you’re making lots to freeze like I did simply let them cool before bagging them up for the freezer, and cook for around 10 – 15 minutes from frozen when you want them.

IMG_4261             IMG_4260

Have you ever made your own? Now I know how easy it is I don’t think I would buy them any more, the ingredients for this are all things I have already in my cupboard at any given time and eating these is so much more satisfactory knowing you’ve made them from scratch! It’s also a pretty easy, good recipe for little ones to get involved with, each one could be in charge of dipping a different bowl! Let me know if you’re a fan of these!

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment