Week Four – Cajun Salmon & Prawn Fishcakes

It took me so long to decide what to cook for this week! Life is pretty hectic at the moment but I still wanted to keep up with my resolution of doing a new thing every week. I got the latest Jamie Oliver book for Christmas, Save for Less, and I haven’t yet made anything from it. 

I knew Wednesday was going to be my only free night all week and because of that I knew I was going to be rushed so I needed something that seemed relatively easy, and I picked his Cajun salmon and prawn fishcakes. I’ve never made fishcakes before, I can’t say they are something I really eat but I enjoyed these so much! So easy to make, so tasty and perfect to make in bulk. I thought I would freeze some up but I ended up eating two for tea, giving some to my dad and I brought one to work for lunch. Because these taste just as nice cold as when they came out of the oven I think when the weather gets a bit warmer and I’m in a salad for lunch kind of mood these will be getting made fairly often! I bought my salmon and prawns on the way home from work so they were refrigerated but you can use frozen for this, just make sure you obviously get it out of the freezer the night before to defrost. 

200g boneless salmon fillets (frozen or fresh)

200g peeled cooked prawns (again frozen or fresh)

500g potatoes 

1 fresh red chilli

2 tablespoons plain flour

salad – iceberg lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes

bread to make the breadcrumbs – just whiz in the food processer some bread (I used two small pieces of tiger bread and had loads left) together with a tablespoon of Cajun season

Peel your potatoes into large chunks and put in a pan of boiling, salted water for around 15/20 minutes (or until cooked through). 

Whilst the potatoes are cooking you can be getting on with roughly chopping up your salmon and prawns. Pop these to one side, then Jamie says to de-seed and finely chop your chilli but I actually bought a new food processer the same day and was too excited to use it so I just threw the whole thing in and watched it whizz into smitherines. 

If you haven’t already made your breadcrumbs this is another thing to be getting on while your potatoes are cooking! Set these into a bowl until you’re ready to use them. 

When your potatoes look ready, remove  them from the heat, drain them, mash them, let them go cool. Then throw the chopped fish/prawns/chilli in, add a touch of salt and pepper, Jamie says the zest of half a lemon but I absolutely hate lemon so I left this out. Mix it alllllll up, divide it into balls and pat/shape each one into a patty about 1.5 cm thick. The book says this would make six, I made five so I must have made them bigger than normal. 

Take your two tablespoons of plain flour and add some cold water – start off with two tablespoons, and just keep mixing, until it forms a paste, I needed to add a couple more than the book said. Pick up a fishcake, take a pastry brush, or the back of a spoon etc, and brush some of the paste over one side. Then lay this side down flat in your bowl of breadcrumbs, gently pressing, then carefully pick it back up, and do the other side. Transfer it back and forth between your hands patting the breadcrumbs in and shaking off any excess, then lay onto a oiled baking tray. Repeat for the rest of the fishcakes, then cover with clingfilm and put in the fridge for 30 minutes. 

IMG_4293.3

When you put them in the fridge, preheat the oven to gas mark 6 (200 °C/400°F). When your 30 minutes is up, transfer to the oven for another 20/30 minutes, they should be crisp, golden, and smell delicious too!  

Serve on a bed of iceberg lettuce with chunky cucumber and juicy cherry tomatoes, or any other salad you fancy!! 

IMG_4305

Honestly, these were so tasty, if this is your kind of thing please give it a go. Now I know how easy it is i am going to be making these all the time! 

IMG_4303 

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Week Four – Cajun Salmon & Prawn Fishcakes

  1. Kim Salvian says:

    This looking amazing, I am going to make it tonite. I hope it also freezes well for lunches. I love the idea of adding in sweet potatoes. We eat them all the time and usually have leftovers for salads.

  2. Roger H. says:

    I made some Aioli[easy with a blender] absolutely fabulous!!

  3. Kim Salvian says:

    Thanks for the tip. I froze them and my daughter had them for lunch today. Thanks Jamie for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

