Week Five – Pizza & Garlic Bread

It was one of my bestest friends birthdays this week, and I decide to make pizzas and throw a little tea party for her on Wednesday. Being an after work thing I dragged this all out over three days, I made the dough and cakes on Monday, iced the cakes Tuesday and of course cooked the pizzas on Wednesday before she arrived.

I have never considered making my own pizzas before and was very nervous as to how it would all turn out, but I was so impressed!! I was going to make two pizzas but decided last minute to do one pizza and then try out a recipe I saw on You Tube for garlic bread. The pizza was so tasty and this is most definitely something I am going to be making again, very soon! The garlic bread was also nice but I did prefer the pizza. I think it’s because I just couldn’t get over how much the pizza tasted like a takeaway pizza and how, hello, I’d made it all from scratch, I just swayed more to the pizza than the garlic bread, haha.

Image

Base

– 300g strong bread flour

– 1 tsp instant yeast

– 1 tsp salt

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 200ml warm water

Place the flour into a large bowl, and stir in the yeast and salt. Make a well in the middle of the bowl, and add the water and oil. Bring together with a wooden spoon until your dough is soft and formed. Move the dough from the bowl onto a lightly floured surface and knead for five minutes until smooth. Put back in the bowl and cover with a tea towel or clingfilm and place in the fridge.

Leave in the fridge for an hour. This is the part where I finished at on Monday, I didn’t take it back out of the fridge until Wednesday night. You could do the next step while you are waiting for your dough to rise, when I came to taking my dough out of the fridge I left it on the side whilst making my sauce just to get it back to room temperature.

For the pizza base there are plenty of sauce recipes on the internet, but when I made mine I didn’t really go by one, I just threw it all in. Now on pizzas my worst part is actually the sauce. I don’t really like tomato based sauces, I scrap them off but the one I made last week was so. NICE. I had around half a packet of cherry tomatoes that needed using up, so I threw those into my food chopper, around two tablespoons of tomato puree, around a tablespoon of chilli paste, a clove of garlic and salt and pepper. I whizzed it all up, then left it to one side.

To make the garlic for the garlic bread, I followed Laura Vitale’s recipe. I have become slightly addicted to her videos lately, the food she makes always looks so amazing my mouth is always watering! She uses 5 cloves of garlic. But the garlic she uses is always so BIG!! I have never seen garlic that big in the UK. So I improvised. I began with 5. I used around 3/4 of a packet of fresh flat leaf parsley. I used 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil. and then I whizzed it all up in the food processor and just had to keep tasting it . It was too oily so  just added more garlic. I think I used 7, or 8 – I had to text Lauren and tell her she should warn her boyfriend she’d stink when she got back home and she might want to bring her toothbrush…

Once both my sauces were made and put to one side, put your dough on a lightly floured surface, make into two, and roll roll roll. Now no matter how much I rolled I could not get either of my doughs into perfect pizza shapes but in the end I decided this just made it all the more (my favourite word) authentic. The dough needs to be as thin as you can get it, it will rise in the oven.

Image

Spread your sauces over the bases, lightly flour the trays you will be putting them in. I put my garlic bread straight in, and I put some grated mozzarella cheese on top of the the pizza. I cooked them for around 8 minutes before taking them out, adding cheese to my garlic bread and my toppings to my pizza. I went with chorizo and salami, and then I ripped a mozzarella ball into pieces and threw that over it, and a touch of oregano.

The recipe I followed said these would take 8 – 10 minutes in the oven but there is no way mine were done in that amount of time. I would say mine stayed in the oven for more like 25 minutes but I did check them every five minutes so just keep an eye on them.

Image

ImageImage

Honestly, the pizza was delicious. I am a meat feast fan on those Friday or Saturday nights I decide to order a takeaway. Now that I have a huge bag of flour and yeast in my cupboard I am certainly going to save myself £8 – 10 and whip up one of these beauties instead.

I feel like every time I write my weeky new thing post I end it by saying I’d rather make it than buy it, a bit like a broken record, but it’s a good broken record to be I suppose!! I’m loving discovering how to make new things. I also think a lot of recipes I read I say a big no to in my head before I even reach the end because it sounds complicated but I am quickly learning that once you have done it once and know your way around the recipe, it’s so easy. I’ve made up a huge batch of last weeks fishcakes without even thinking about it this afternoon!

Have you ever made pizza? Did you find it easier than you thought?

Image

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Week Five – Pizza & Garlic Bread

  1. We love garlic here in Sicily. Our rianata, the typical pizza of Trapani, is full of garlic.

  2. […] top. I wanted to use a mild cheddar but I have an abundance of grated mozzarella in my fridge from pizzagate last week that really needed using […]

Leave a Reply

