Chocolate Madeira Balls

Really struggling to decide what to actually call these!! Remember (I say remember because I don’t know when the last time I saw these in the shops/bakers was) those coconut macaroons with the cherry on top from years ago? I used to love them. One of my childhood memories is eating one all around the edges to carefully save the cherry for the last bite and dropping it on the pavement. I was gutted! Anyway these really remind me of them.

I saw this recipe in the free Tesco magazine over Christmas and made them for a small family buffet I threw. They were so nice, the recipe only used white chocolate and I changed it to using milk for the coating, like those marshmallow snowballs you can buy in the biscuit aisles.

– 300g white chocolate (or 150g white, 150g milk, whichever combination you choose)

– 50g butter

– 125g desiccated coconut

– 1 Madeira cake

Begin by breaking half of your chocolate (if you’re doing half – half, this is where you use your white chocolate) into a bowl, along with the butter, and place over a pan of simmering water to melt.

Break the cake up into a food processor and blitz into crumbs.

When your chocolate is melted and you have taken it off the heat, gently stir in your cake crumbs until it is all mixed together. Leave to one side for around 10 – 15 minutes, until it is cool enough to handle.

Using a spoon for ease, take small spoonfuls of the mixture, and then roll between the palms of your hands, back and forth to form small round balls.  Place onto a tray, and once all the mixture has been used place the tray in the fridge to harden for roughly an hour. I have made these a few times now and I tend to leave them in the fridge overnight, whatever works easier for you.

When you have removed them from the fridge, break your remaining chocolate (this time the milk chocolate) into a bowl and melt. Dip each ball into the chocolate, allowing any excess to run off, then place straight into the bowl of desiccated coconut. Put back onto a tray and once all have been done, put back in the fridge for 1 hour.

Image

These are so delicious. I urge you to go and make these today, tomorrow, this week, just make them! See how easy it is? Blitz cake melt chocolate mix ball decorate. You will thank me for it.

The other thing I like about these is that because it is essentially just sticky cake, it’s so easy to form in shapes other than balls. Lauren loves hedgehogs and I saw a recipe on Pinterest (are you following me? Link here!) for shortbread hedgehogs but I was struggling to think how I was going to make the animal shape without a cutter. Then I had the idea to make these instead and I don’t think they turned out too badly.

ImageImage

They’re not perfect I know but they pass for hedgehogs, right? The second on the bottom row looks like a little old man hedgehog, and one was falling apart like it had been attacked but I don’t think it is on that picture. This recipe made 20 snowballs, or alternatively 14 hedgehogs.

These are one of my favourite indulgences, and I’m already thinking what else I could shape these into next.  Give them a go!!!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

