Week Six – Chipotle Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

This week is another rush rush rush week for me. I’m going to Dublin on Saturday morning and have so much to do before then so the decision to make this meal tonight was actually only decided at 8.15 am stuck in traffic on the way into Leeds, browsing Pinterest. A quick dash around town on my way home trying to find sweet potatoes and pick up some chipotle paste and I was all set.

Image

– 3 medium sweet potatoes

– 2 small chicken breasts

– 1 tsp chipotle paste

– 1 tsp dried coriander

– 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

– salt and pepper

– grated cheese – I used grated mozzarella

Preheat your oven to Gas Mark 6. Wash the potatoes and prick all over, then put in the oven for around 50 – 60 minutes. After around 30 minutes, turn the potatoes over, and put your chicken in.

Both the potatoes and chicken should now be ready at the same time. Remove everything from the oven, but don’t turn it off. Using a fork, shred the chicken, or chop into small cubes and place into a bowl. Once the potatoes have cooled down enough for you to handle, slice them from top to bottom and scoop out the flesh, still leaving potato in the skin, you just want to take a teaspoon and just thin it down sort of. I put all the flesh in a bowl and mashed it up to have at a later date. Waste not want not!

In a small bowl combine your oil, chipotle paste, salt, pepper, and dried coriander. Mix together. Add to your bowl of shredded chicken and mix until it is all coated. Using a small spoon, carefully place the chicken inside the potato skins, and put the skins back on the baking tray. Add a little more salt over the skins, then add a small amount (or not!) of cheese to the top. I wanted to use a mild cheddar but I have an abundance of grated mozzarella in my fridge from pizzagate last week that really needed using up.

Put back into the oven for five more minutes or until the cheese has melted/turned golden. I added a tray of kale chips so I just popped that in with the skins and took it all back out when they were ready.

Image

I tried sweet potatoes last year for the first time. I got quite a big bag of them, and used a few to make wedges. I was not exactly a fan. I didn’t like the taste and I think just lately they have had a huge rapport and I thought I was going to love them, so I was really disappointed. I ended up giving the most of the bag to my dad but I did keep a couple back and cubed them and added them to a spicy quesadilla I made and I didn’t mind them as much. I’m so glad I tried them again tonight, maybe wedges weren’t the one for me but baking them whole like a jacket potato made all the difference. I’m not going to be picking the sweet potato over a normal jacket any time soon but I feel like I have made progress in my potato eating habits tonight!!

I totally forgot until writing this that I had meant to add spinach to my chicken mixture, which would have been a nice addition. I suppose it is quite an adaptable recipe. Are you a sweet potato fan? Before I forget, here is the recipe I based this one on. I would have liked to make the chipotle mixture from scratch like this recipe did, but it’s two weeks before pay day people and my bank balance is a huge fat £0.00 so I had to take the cheats way out and use a ready made paste…

Image

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

