The Best Chocolate Cookies

I never used to think of myself as a cookie person, more maybe a brownie fan? But after reviewig the evidence: Always partial to a Millies Cookie, can’t go to Subway without getting a cookie, rarely able to walk out of Sainsburys without picking up (at least one) packet of their double chocolate chip, I’m starting to think otherwise.

A couple of weeks ago when I was pretty ill one weekend the only thing that appealed to me was chocolate , but not like a bar, I wanted something else, more doughy and cakey, but also something fast and not too much effort. I came across a website for a recipe that called itself Millies Cookies. Soft, melty chocolate, these were delicious. I made them again this weekend, but this time I also made two giant cookies in sandwich tins, with a couple of scoops of ice cream over, I miss the days I used to order Pizza Hut all the time and always order this :( This certainly hit the spot though!

– 125g butter (softened)

– 100g light brown sugars

– 125g caster sugar

– 1 egg

– 225g self raising flour

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 200g chocolate chips

Cream the butter and both sugars.

Combine the egg.

Sift in the flour, and salt, and finally the chocolate chips.

Cut the mixture into rounds/balls, whichever is easier, and place on a baking tray. The recipe says for the real Millies Cookies bake for just 7 minutes. I don’t know if it is just my oven but it took a lot longer than that! I had to keep checking for around 15 minutes because they were definitely not eatable after 7 minutes.

You could make the whole batch up, or do what I did last time, make the cookie dough and use half, freezing the rest. After today this amount made 8 medium sized cookies and two giant cookies.

Image

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

