Dublin: Day Two!

On our second day in Dublin we took a chance and booked the Cliffs of Moher Day Tour. There are many tour companies to pick from but after reading through a few we liked this one the most, because if the worst came to the worst and the Cliffs were closed because of bad weather (which they had been,  an awful lot in the last few weeks leading up to us going), at least we would see a lot of other things. We didn’t want to travel all that way for nothing, and to lose our money!

Thankfully, it worked out perfectly!! It rained, but you know what? It didn’t rain until we had reached the Cliffs, and spent an hour and half walking round. We got back in the coach, and set off and around five, ten minutes later the heavens opened. It poured down! Our coach driver stopped shortly after the Cliffs and we didn’t want to get out because of the rain, and then we thought, let’s just get wet, we won’t see this again…and the rain stopped again just as we were putting out coats on. We were so lucky!

The tour picks up at 6.50 in the morning so it was a pretty early one. We had a lovely driver called Gerard. I loved setting off so early, it was Sunday morning and there was barely any traffic, just gorgeous scenes for miles to see.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Gerard took us through the streets of Ireland as opposed to on the motorways and this was brilliant because we saw and learnt so much more. He took us through Moneygall, and stopped to show us the house that President Obama’s ancestors lived in.

Image

Image

Image

I’m a huge Obama geek, I loved this part.

After a couple of hours, the coach stops in Limerick for around 20 minutes or so. We took plenty of pictures of King John’s Castle, the river Shannon, the Treaty Stone.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Finally, Cliffs of Moher!! & O Brien’s Tower,!! Just. Amazing.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

After leaving the Cliffs the tour takes you to Doolin, and a small pub for lunch. I have to say that when I looked at the menu when we got there I wasn’t too taken by anything, so picked the pasta. I can’t say I would ever pick pasta and mashed potato but oh my gosh it was amazing. This was one of my favourite meals of the trip! Absolutely demolished.

ImageImage

Image

Image

The next stop in County Clare was one of the National Parks, the Burren, then Corcomroe Abbey.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Are you beginning to see why I am in love with this trip?! So many stops and things to see! The next place we passed was Galway Bay, and the village of Kinvara, and Dunguaire Castle.

Image

Image

And that pretty much wraps the tour up. Quite a long drive back and I think because it being February it had gotten dark, and an early start, I was totally dropping off on the way home, just waking back up when Gerard had some nuggets of information to share over the microphone!! The trip gets back in Dublin at around 7 pm. I cannot recommend this tour enough, hopefully I have conveyed into pictures and a few words how much you see. The price is €45, or in GBP, £37. So, so, worth it!

Sunday night we went back to Temple Bar and went to Hard Rock Cafe for a few cocktails and some tea! Sinead picked the twisted mac chicken & cheese, and I went for a pulled bbq chicken sandwich. Then we went in search of a not too full but not empty, lively pub. We found ourselves in The Auld Dubliner which was fun, it had live music and me and Sinead are quite happy to sit at a table and just people watch all night, we certainly picked the right pub for it :)

Image

Image

ImageImage

All in all our second day in Dublin was my favourite. I would certainly pick Day Tours again if I wanted to do another trip next time I go, I probably wouldn’t go to see the Cliffs again but there are many more other tours they offer, many more sights to see! I cannot tell you how much we loved our tour guide, I expect they are all as lovely as each other but we literally couldn’t have been happier with ours.

Have you been to see the Cliffs, or are there other places you would recommend?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

