Cherry Tomato & Sausage Bake

I saw this recipe about two years ago on someones instagram and since then I have made this so many times. It’s one of my favourites, so easy to put together, and perfect for adapting to however many people you are feeding. Everyone I’ve ever cooked it for raves about it, my dad requests it whenever I am cooking for the family – it’s just the perfect lazy afternoon dish. 

– 2 kg of cherry tomatoes – I am usually cooking this for two people and I usually use a packet of cherry tomatoes

– Sausages – for me, tomato sausages from my local butcher are the ones for this and they make the meal, but I have used just pork sausages before. Again, go by how many people you are cooking for – I usually go 3 sausages per person

– Thyme

– Rosemary

– Bay Leaves

– Oregano

– Garlic (3 cloves)

– Extra Virgin Olive Oil

– Balsamic Vinegar

– Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Begin by preheating the oven to gas mark 5(190) while you are getting prepared. Take a oven proof dish/roasting tray and empty all your tomatoes into the bottom, then all your herbs, and garlic, and the sausages resting on top. Drizzle over with the oil and vinegar, the salt, and the pepper, making sure everything is nicely coated. Put in the oven for around 30 minutes – depending on how you like your sausages, I usually leave it longer than 30 minutes as I do like them crispy and well done. Turn the sausages over half way through. 

Image

Image

It’s one of those perfect dishes you can just take from the oven to the table, serve with a few sides and let everyone dig in, maybe a nice glass of wine, and friends and family – boom! Favourite type of day right there! If I’m serving this up for a few people I usually make garlic new potatoes (new potatoes, a little butter, a clove of garlic, and done either in the oven or the microwave depending on how much time I have), some warm crusty bread to soak up the juice, and I went through a phase where I was obsessed with garlic and rosemary carrots so I used to pop some of those on too. 

ImageImage

What’s your perfect weekend afternoon meal? 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Cherry Tomato & Sausage Bake

  1. I love the sound of these flavours and the ease of it too! Would love to try out a veggie sausage version :)

Leave a Reply

