Favourites

In the first post I did on this blog back in January I mentioned how tuna steak was definitely going to be something I ate once a month. Well, almost six months later I have pretty much jumped into the once, sometimes twice a week category. I am in love with this simple meal for tea, it is easy and fast and something I can have on the table within 40 minutes of getting home. I’ve also massively increased the amount of salmon I eat. I have always been a massive salmon fan but after raiding my cupboard I think I have found my favourite way to eat it:

IMG_7691

– Salmon fillet

– Garlic powder

– Cayenne pepper

– Chilli salt

Again, it is a very simple meal that will be ready in around thirty minutes. Add garlic powder to your salmon fillet, using your finger to press it into the fish. Next, top with the cayenne pepper all over the fillet. Finally, using your fingers press the chilli salt into the fish. Bake for around 20 – 25 minutes. Whilst this is in the oven, I like to prepare some new potatoes using a little butter, a clove or two of garlic, and I add a little chilli salt to this too. I actually prefer to do these potatoes in the microwave, I like that I can have something cooking in the oven, pop the potatoes on for around 7 – 10 minutes in the microwave and get on with something else. I quite often don’t get home until after 7 and I don’t really like eating late so for me I just find this method a lot easier.

Add a little veg and this is one of the most amazing meals of my life! I actually think eating salmon makes me happy because if I think about salmon it reminds me of being on holiday, sitting on the beach front watching the sea! My only problem is I have now run out of chilli salt and I cannot find it in any of the places I shop in but I am looking forward to picking up some more and trying this kind of combination on other meals. What is your favourite way to eat salmon? And now that I’ve spent the last 30 minutes not finishing this post off but daydreaming about holidays, here are a couple of pics from the last time I will have been eating salmon on a beach, 2012, in one of my favourite places, Portugal.

IMG_4274 IMG_4275

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

