Roasted Broccoli (& More salmon!)

Broccoli is probably one of my favourite vegetables, but one I don’t eat anywhere near enough of. I picked one up last week and knew I wanted to cook it up on Saturday but the usual way of cooking it wasn’t appealing to me. I remembered in the back of my mind seeing something on Pinterest about roasting it instead and after a quick search and 25 minutes cooking my new obsession with the green was born!

IMG_2559

This is the most simplest thing to prepare, cook, and eat: Cut your broccoli into florets and spread evenly onto a baking tray. Drizzle with a small amount of olive oil, and generously season with salt. Bake in a pre heated oven on gas mark 6 for around 25 minutes. Or, like me, you can remove after around 15 minutes and sprinkle with a little parmesan cheese and then return to the oven for another 5 – 10 minuets.

IMG_2523

The result is a crunchy and salty kind of broccoli – different to the soggy greens often served up on a Sunday roast! It reminded me of kale which is another favourite. I enjoyed this so much I have made the same thing today. Yesterday I paired it with cajun salmon and new potatoes and today I’m serving it up with nandos chicken, rice and halumi cheese.

IMG_2560

Since I mention salmon in almost every post lately I thought I would give a little tip when it comes to buying it. Salmon can be really expensive, often around £4.50 for just two fillets, and don’t even get me started on the size of those little thin pieces you get in a two pack, I find them a total waste of money! One thing I have learned and started doing in the last couple of months is to keep an eye on the deals on the fish counter. A few months ago I got a side of salmon from Asda for £9. I cut this up when I got home into 6 generous portions – probably a bit too big, I could have got more out of it, but even with 6 portions this would have easily cost over the £9 I paid to buy them separately. Last month, I saw that Morrisons had half price deals on their fish counter and I managed to pick up a whole salmon for £20.50. £20 might seem like a lot – but I managed to get 16 pieces out of this! It would cost a lot more than £20 to get that many pieces separately.

 IMG_2021

So I shall leave it here with my advice for the week simply being: go to the supermarket, buy a whole salmon from a fish counter, buy some broccoli and roast it!

Hope everyone has had a brilliant weekend!

xxx

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

