Cherry Bakewell Fairy Cakes

I’m not a huge sweet lover, I am more of a savory fan, but the last three Fridays have seen me ending my working week de-stressing by doing a batch of baking. There is something more relaxing I find about baking – providing it’s not a complicated recipe – when I’ve had a busy week or I’ve got things on my mind, following a uniformed recipe seems to make me calm down a bit, relax a little more. Add to that the addition of a nice glass of wine, and after an hour or so a nice homemade treat, and it’s currently my favourite way to spend my Friday nights. 

I’ve had in my head for a few weeks the idea of making some muffins/buns/cupcakes – that kind of thing, so I went scouring the internet, Pinterest, my bookmarks, until I found a couple of ideas I liked the sound of. Cherry Bakewell cakes sounded appealing – if I was going to pick up any Mr Kipling cakes I’d most likely pick cherry bakewells. This recipe certainly is just as it sounds – they taste amazing and are so simple and easy. 

– 100g self – raising flour

– 100g caster sugar

– 100g butter

– 2 eggs

– 1 tsp almond extract

– 4 tbsp raspberry jam

– 100g icing sugar

– 2 tbsp boiling water

– 12 glace cherries

Preheat the oven to 180°C, and get your bun tin ready with your cake cases. 

Beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then one at a time add your eggs. Mix in the almond extract. Once all this is combined, fold in your flour until everything is combined. 

Place one dessert spoon of mixture in each case. Top each one with a teaspoon of jam, then a further teaspoon of cake batter, creating a cake batter – jam – batter sandwich! The jam will sink when they are in the oven. Bake these for around 18 minutes (or until they are golden/have risen). Set these to one side to cool for around 25 minutes. 

To make your icing, mix your icing sugar and water together until it has formed a smooth icing paste. Try to resist eating it straight from the bowl, and smooth it over each cake, topping each cake with a cherry before setting aside to further cool. 

I’ve been eating an abundance of these for the last three days and think I prefer when they have been in the fridge as the icing is kept lovely and hard. Icing is by far my favourite part of any cake! 

photo

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

